Wayne David is the Chair of the new Gwent Group of Labour MPs
Wayne David is the Chair of the new Gwent Group of Labour MPs

Gwent’s 7 Labour MPs have decided to come together and form a new Parliamentary Group, within the Welsh Group of the Parliamentary Labour Party.

The Group brings together all of Gwent’s Labour MPs, including the MP for Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney whose constituency is partly within the Gwent area. The Chair and Convenor of the Group is Wayne David, MP for Caerphilly, the Secretary is Ruth Jones, the MP for Newport West and the Vice Chair is Jessica Morden, the MP for Newport East.

Wayne David said, “There are clearly issues that are very much Gwent issues and it is important that Gwent’s Labour MPs speak with one voice on important issues that are common to us. In particular, there are issues relating to the health service, policing and public transport that we are agreed on and it will increase our collective voice when we speak as one.

“The Group has already met to discuss issues around the scandal of the abuse of the elderly in the care homes of the late Dr Das, and what is now to be done. We are also due to consider issues relating to policing in the context of May’s Police and Crime Commissioner elections”.

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search